Mascara – A Rant

I have had it with mascara.  I LOVE mascara, and I need mascara, but within the last year of trying new mascaras, some expensive, some middle of the road, I’ve been left with nothing but disappointment.

Remember back in the day when you’d have to give a good tug to pull out that mascara wand and then hear a snug bloop noise, almost like a “tupperware burp” and the mascara wand would come out and look as if it didn’t have any product on it? That noise was because the mascara had a narrow opening to remove excess product from the wand. Remember you’d have to dip your wand into the tube 5 or 6 times to be able to coat your lashes like a fiend?  I miss those days.

Now, we get mascaras with openings as wide as the Grand Canyon and globs of product coming out on the wand.  This ticks me off.

Look at the opening of this mascara tube.  It’s just a big ol’ hole.  I could tip this over and the wand would just fall out. I only purchased this yesterday.  It’s already a mess with product around the rim. *sigh*

img_6724.jpg

This is the issue I had with my $23 Better Than Sex mascara from Too Faced Cosmetics. Too much product is coming out and creating a flippin’ mess.  I can deal with a smudge of mascara on my face, but I had it on my hands, it was all over the tube, and all over my sink. And let me tell you, $23 for a mascara is ridiculous. I know I’m a bit rage-y.  I know it’s just mascara, but it’s super frustrating to spend $6 here, $8 there, $23 over there for a product that you get 3 uses out of before it becomes a disaster in a tube, getting mascara all over the place, and not usable any more.  I haven’t even written my Too Faced BTS mascara post yet because I’m so disappointed.  That mascara has such AMAZING potential.  The sample size was PHENOMENAL. That’s what suckered me in. Get your shite together, Too Faced.

Before I started changing up my mascara game, I used the e.l.f. brand mascaras.  Never had a problem like this.  The only issue I faced was the mascara drying up within a few weeks to a couple months. But hey, for $3, I’ll take that over a clumpy and sloppy mess err’day. <—–  I’m so sorry for using that word.

I bought this Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam because it’s supposed to be a dupe for the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara. The wand is similar, probably better, but it’s still a nightmare when applied to the lashes because of the amount of product that comes out of the tube.  Yes, I wipe the excess off on the tube.  I’ve even dabbed the wand with tissue, but I shouldn’t have to do that.  The wand should come out with just enough product.

Ok, I’m going to end my rant.  If you’ve read this far, you are a saint.  ❤

Have you had this issue?  What is your main beauty product rant?

7 thoughts on “Mascara – A Rant

  1. This I totally agree with! I was using a mini version of the benefit they’re real mascara and So. Much. Product. Came. Off.
    It got to the point I started using a different brush because there was just so much product!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

